Chocolate Swirl Buns

Last weekend I was immersed in the vortex of YouTube – you know those moments where you’re intending to watch just one video but end up 2 hours later still glued to the screen? Yup. That was me. However, there was one positive that came out of my marathon YouTube viewing – I came across Donal Skehan’s channel. He has a plethora of easy to follow recipe videos on his channel including both cooking and baking – and he’s not bad on the eye too making the videos that much more enjoyable to watch ;).

fullsizerender-24

I stumbled across his video showing a step by step guide on how to make patisserie perfect chocolate swirl buns and couldn’t wait to give it a go. They look incredibly professional and with one of my goals for the year being to use yeast more – I thought this would be the perfect fuss free recipe.

With the dough being laced in cardamon and there being a hint of chocolate oozing out, it’s great as a tea time treat or even if you’re feeling a little naughty during breakfast!

Ingredients: Makes 12 buns

For the dough:

  • 400ml milk
  • 110g butter
  • 2 x 7g sachets of dried yeast
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 750g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 egg, beaten

For the filling:

  • 50g butter, softened
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 200g good quality dark chocolate, very finely chopped (I used plain instead)

Method:

Full step by step instructions can be found here including the accompanying video (which is super useful!)

fullsizerender-25

The only change I would potentially make is maybe removing the cardamon or adding slightly less since it was a little too strong for me.

Let me know if you decide to give this a go!

B xx

One thought on “Chocolate Swirl Buns

Leave a Reply

