Chocolate Chip Muffins

Over the summer I finally got to tick off one of my “to do’s” from my list – a trip to Brighton! I’ve haven’t been to Brighton in years so was super excited to finally be able to appreciate the sea and shops now that I’m older. It was a lovely day of aimlessly wondering around the town whilst basking in the rarely seen sun.

Now I can sense the confusion already – how on earth does Brighton relate to Chocolate Chip Muffins?? Well, whilst in Brighton I picked up these super cute paper muffin cases from a independent shop in the lanes. I fell in love with the pink polka dot pattern immediately and couldn’t wait to use them.

img_0184-1

I knew there was only thing I wanted to bake in these cases – chocolate chip muffins! I love baking muffins since there’s not a single need to decorate and by using my cases I was able to get a more rustic, pretty feel without even really trying!

I followed this recipe:

Ingredients

  • 300g self raising flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 50g cold unsalted butter cubed
  • 80g caster sugar**
  • 150g milk or plain chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs , lightly beaten
  • 225ml milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200c/400F/gas mark 5 and line 12 muffin cases.
  2. Mix the flour and baking powder together in a large bowl. Rub in the butter until the mixture is like breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar and the chocolate chips.
  3. In a separate bowl mix the eggs , milk and vanilla extract together. Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and mix briefly.
  4. Spoon the batter into the muffin cases and bake for 15-20 minutes or until risen , golden and firm to touch.
  5. Cool in the tin for 10 minutes or transfer to a cooling rack or serve straight away.

**The only alteration I would probably make to this recipe is to add more sugar since they weren’t sweet enough for me!

img_0181-1

B xx

Leave a Reply

