Biscoff Cake

fullsizerender-19

I very rarely dabble in the world of 3 tiered cakes but a special party meant I needed to produce something that had the WOW factor.

I was ready to take on the challenge but knew I wanted to bake something that was slightly different in flavour. After searching across the interweb, I came across this Biscoff cake recipe from Janes Patisserie (her blog is pretty awesome when it comes to playing around with flavours!) and I just had to give it a go.

What is Biscoff I hear you say? Well if you’ve not yet had the chance to try it, you’ve certainly been missing out. The Biscoff Lotus biscuit is a thing of dreams – a crunchy biscuit which contains a hint of cinnamon and other spices. But, there’s also the Biscoff spread which is essentially a spread version of the Biscoff biscuit. Over half the jar is made using the biscuits but it has the consistency of peanut butter – pretty damn amazing right? I used this for the buttercream *drools*!

Now, it doesn’t get much better than combining this into cake form so I couldn’t wait to get started.

img_9847

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 400g Unsalted Butter, softened
  • 400g Light Brown Sugar
  • 400g Eggs (roughly 7 Large Eggs)
  • 400g Self-Raising Flour
  • 2tsp Baking Powder
  • 4tbsp Whole Milk

Biscoff Cookie Butter Buttercream Frosting

  • 250g Unsalted Butter, softened
  • 500g Icing Sugar
  • 300g Lotus Biscoff Biscuit Spread
  • 40-60ml whole milk – if needed

Decoration

  • Crushed Lotus Biscuits
  • Whole Lotus Biscuits

Method

I followed the exact step by step process found here.

img_0085-1

By baking a simple cake but using light brown sugar instead, it was able to compliment the subtle spices from the buttercream. I sandwiched Biscoff buttercream between each layer and piped on a few splodges on top and finished off with the addition of Lotus Biscuits (incase there wasn’t an overload of Biscoff already!). I was super pleased with the end product and heard nothing but compliments about the cake. I can’t wait to use Biscoff in my bakes more often!

B xx

10 thoughts on “Biscoff Cake

Leave a Reply

