Dessert Table #1

img_9480

I’m a big fan of dessert tables – give me a reason for a party and I’ll be the first person to jump up to create a table filled with desserts to fit the theme.

I think it makes the perfect addition to any party and I’m a sucker for taking something simple and transforming it to look pretty. Having a dessert table helps to give the room a focal point and keeps the guests waiting eagerly and on their toes till the table opens up!

fullsizerender-18

fullsizerender-17

I’ve created loads of dessert tables over the past few years – but none have actually appeared on here. This little series will showcase all the tables I’ve put together for various different events – all of which combine homemade desserts with those purchased straight from the shop.

fullsizerender-16dt-1

First up is this ensemble I put together for a family gathering. With the majority being homemade and with only one evening to bake- I had my work cut out! Many of these dessert recipes feature on this blog, if you’re keen to give them a go!

  1. Lemon Loaf
  2. Strawberry Jelly Shots
  3. Chocolate Choux Buns
  4. Banoffee Pie
  5. Madeira Cake
  6. Rice Pudding Glasses
  7. Mini Caramel Tarts
  8. Cupcakes
  9. Cinnamon Rolls

fullsizerender-12

capture

Here are my top tips on creating the perfect dessert table:

  1. Use Individual mini glasses/pots
    • I tend buy mine from Party Delights – by using these, it makes it incredibly easy for all guests to pick up a dessert and go, but also really helps to add to the aesthetics of the table.
  2. Use a variety of cake stands/boxes in all different shapes and sizes
    • A good dessert table is one which is of all different heights – you can be as imaginative as you want with the items you use – I’ve used jewellery boxes, bird cages and vegetable crates previously!
  3. Use fairy lights and flowers 
    • Use anything to help you dress the table up
  4. Use a table cover
    • Unless your table is super pretty, there’s no excuse to not use a table cover.

fullsizerender-11

B xx

Leave a Reply

