My London Brunch Guide

IMG_9882

Brunch – a late morning meal eaten instead of breakfast and lunch.

Brunch has to be one of my all-time favourite meals since it’s essentially an excuse to eat breakfast late in the day – an excuse to sleep in and still eat breakfast – my idea of heaven.

I’ve been roaming around the streets of London recently to find my ultimate Brunch hotspots and to satisfy my brunch cravings and thought this would be perfect little guide for those that are lacking inspiration or are looking for ideas from the eyes of a London local.

Dishoom: The Bombay Breakfast

If you’ve not heard of Dishoom yet, where have you been? A Bombay cafe-style brasserie which everyone has been going crazy over recently, some locations require a 2 hour wait so you know it must be good. They take bookings for breakfast & lunch but only group bookings for dinner so expect a long wait.

Not only is their interior super quaint, authentic and made to feel reminiscent of the Irani cafes of Bombay, but their food is even better. I ordered the Egg Naan and Bun Maska whilst my friend ordered the Bombay Omelette and Chilli Cheese Toast. Let’s just say we demolished the lot, there wasn’t a crumb to be seen.

IMG_9801-0

You wouldn’t normally associate a restaurant of this demeanour with breakfast but Dishoom pulls this off ever so well.  My Egg Naan came with a chilli jam which completely complemented it – I could’ve so eaten another portion. The Bun Maska (an Iranian cafe classic) is a bun toasted hot on the outside, with a slice of butter inside, which came with Dishoom’s signature house chai. This was my first ever foray into the world of Indian teas, and I’ve come to realise the taste isn’t quite for me. A very flavoursome, cinnamon tea which I did enjoy dipping my Bun Maska into nonetheless. My friend could only say good things about her meal too.

Great environment, good food at easy to love prices – I’ll definitely be back for dinner.

IMG_9791

Location: Multiple – Shoreditch, Covent Garden, Kings Cross, Carnaby
Website: http://www.dishoom.com/
Service: 5/5 despite it being extremely busy our food was brought out within 10 mins of ordering and the staff were extremely attentive.
Food: 5/5 One word – delicious! Super cheap too – you can get a naan roll and house chai for under £8!

Bills: The English Classic

A restaurant which started off in East Sussex and now has expanded right into the capital, this truly British hotspot is taking over. I visited one late Saturday morning, and the restaurant was heaving with people. With restaurants situated all across central London, this is perfect for those who want to relax after a long day of shopping.

IMG_9792

I opted for the Bill’s vegetarian breakfast and found it refreshing to be served a lighter version of the traditional English breakfast. With poached eggs served on toast with guacamole, hummus, and sweet chilli sauce, it was incredibly light and the combination of hummus and sweet chilli sauce was invigorating – I was honestly thinking about it for days after. My friend ordered the peanut butter and French toast and although the portion was pretty small, it left me feeling extremely envious – the almond nut butter with the soft, squidgy French toast alongside the strawberries and bananas worked in perfect harmony together.

IMG_8560

Their extensive lunch and dinner menu means I’ll be back visiting this place time and time again – the fact that they have a teatime menu where they serve scones, crumpets and true British classics, makes it an even better destination for a quick shopping pit stop.

IMG_8565

Location: Multiple – 20 branches across London incl. Covent Garden, Soho, Westfield
Website: https://bills-website.co.uk/
Service: 5/5 Super-fast service
Food: 5/5 Every part of this meal was perfect. Light but filling and had me craving more!

The Book Club: The Social hangout

Hidden away in the back streets of Shoreditch, this cafe/bar/hangout ticks all the boxes if you’re looking for a more relaxed environment where you want to extend brunch into the late hours. Serving cocktails as well as a good food menu, it acts as the perfect place for a catch up with old friends.

IMG_9883

IMG_4086

I ordered the vegetarian breakfast (surprise, surprise!), whilst my friend opted for the pancakes. She was extremely impressed with the pancakes especially the topping to pancake ratio. I enjoyed my meal but wasn’t blown away by it, it was just your average breakfast – I also didn’t like the fact that there was no vegetarian sausage included! I’ll definitely have to order the pancakes next time. However despite this, the aura of the place is what sold it to me, it seemed to have a very community like feel and with a ping pong table at the back, you’re bound to leave here with new Facebook friends. They also occasionally run different workshops and classes as well as live music sessions which is worth checking out.

IMG_4187

Location: Shoreditch
Website: http://www.wearetbc.com/
Service: 3/5 Food was served fast, but you have no dedicated waiter. You’re required to order at the bar adding to the relaxed feel of the place
Food: 3/5 Good homely food but nothing amazing.

The Breakfast Club: The Hipster Hangout

This place just epitomises the definition of Brunch. With queues going round the block on Sunday’s, it’s a place which everyone wants to eat at. Their extensive brunch menu is one that constantly makes me go back.

IMG_9885

I ordered the “Reggie the veggie” whist my friend ordered the Vegetarian breakfast burrito. I find vegetarian breakfasts are always difficult to get right but the portion was just perfect and the potatoes were probably the best I’ve ever tasted. I’ve been back multiple times and would also recommend the Eggs Florentine and pancakes!

IMG_2780

Location: Multiple – Soho, Canary Wharf
Website: http://www.thebreakfastclubcafes.com/
Service: 4/5 Long queues but quick service
Food: 4/5 Yummy! A wide range of choices to suit everyone.

If you’re thinking of visiting London sometime soon or are a London local like myself, then I hope this guide helps you out a little.

B xx

Leave a Reply

