Cinnamon Rolls

IMG_8489-0

When I think of cinnamon, Christmas automatically pops into my head. It’s one of those flavours which is so heavily associated with that time of year. Gingerbreads, lattes, teas… you name it. It becomes the only flavour used for the entirety of the month.

You’d think that with it being constantly paraded around our noses the whole of last month that I would’ve got sick of it by now but quite the contrary actually, I must be having some sort of “cinnamon withdrawal” since I was itching to make these cinnamon rolls.

I absolutely love using cinnamon in baking, I think it’s an ingredient which so effortlessly and easily adds flavour to a bake. It’s one that deserves its rightful place to be used throughout the year and not just December. Also what better to have than the smell of cinnamon wafting throughout the whole house?!

IMG_8512-0

I know I say this all the time, but this bake was so incredibly easy. I would’ve thought that when making any type of doughy cake that you’d have to leave the dough to prove for endless hours – well not this one. It doesn’t even require yeast! It’s super simple and the swirls are incredibly eye catching. And can I just reiterate how amazing it tastes! For those with a sweet tooth, this is the bake for you. The filling is extremely sweet but the doughy base offsets the richness and leaves you wanting more.

IMG_8511-0

I used this recipe from the BBC GoodFood website but amended the quantities slightly. Since I rolled my dough out larger than stated, I realised that the specified quantities for the filling wasn’t enough so doubled the amount I made. I think the amount of filling you want to add depends entirely on how sweet you want your rolls to be.

IMG_8471

Ingredients:

For the Rolls:

  • 350g self raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2tbsp caster sugar
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 100g butter, melted and extra for greasing
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 200ml milk, extra for glazing

For the Filling (I used double the amounts stated below):

  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 55g brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted

IMG_8553

Method:

  1. Mix the flour, salt, caster sugar and cinnamon together in a bowl.
  2. In a separate jug, whisk together the butter, egg yolks and milk and combine with the dry ingredients to make a soft dough.
  3. Put the dough onto a large piece of baking paper or your counter, lightly sprinkled with flour, and roll out to a rectangle around 30 x 25cm/12 x 10 inches (mine was slightly bigger than this).
  4. To make the filling, mix the ingredients together and then spread evenly over the dough.
  5. Roll the dough in a swiss roll style to form a log making sure to pull the dough tight as you roll.
  6. Using a sharp knife, cut the dough into 8 even-sized slices (I cut mine into 11 slices) and pack into the prepared tin.
  7. Brush gently with extra milk and bake in a preheated oven, Gas Mark 4/180C/350F, for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.
  8. Remove from the oven and cool for 5 minutes before removing from the tin.
  9. Sprinkle with icing sugar.

IMG_8470

Next time you’re looking for your cinnamon fix, be sure to give this recipe a go.

B xx

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Dessert Table #1 | bithikablogs

Leave a Reply

