Pad Thai

IMG_8463

Cooking recipes don’t tend to appear much on this blog – let’s just say I’m more of a baker than a cook. I’m very meticulous so much prefer following the exact measurements of a baking recipe than throwing in a dash of this, a pinch of that.

However, cooking is something I want to really build upon this year, starting with the basics and working my way up to various cuisines.

I’m hoping it can’t be that much harder than baking, but don’t worry, this blog won’t now be filled with cooking recipes, I’ll always be a baker at heart.

Over the weekend, I thought I’d put my promise of cooking to the test. Whilst searching for something simple I could make to ease into the whole process, I stumbled across this Pad Thai recipe. After re-watching the video a couple of times, I was shocked at how quick it was to make and how little cooking was actually required. And since I have this new found obsession with thai food, I just knew I had to give it a go.

IMG_8468

Despite the fact that salt and pepper isn’t used once in this recipe, this dish is overly flavoursome. The kick of the fish sauce mixed with the tamarind paste and brown sugar gives a sweet kick and brings the dish together in my eyes. I can definitely see myself making this again, however I may substitute the prawns with chicken since I think it would make the meal more filling.

Be warned though, this recipe does require a fair few ingredients which you probably don’t have lying around in your cupboard!

Ingredients:

  • 3tbsp tamarind paste
  • 3tbsp Thai fish sauce
  • 3tbsp light muscovado sugar
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2tbsp vegetable or sunflower oil
  • 2 medium eggs, beaten
  • 2 skinless chicken breasts, very finely sliced
  • 200g (7oz) raw prawns, shelled and patted dry
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • pinch of chilli powder or 1 shredded fresh chilli
  • 1 x 31g pack coriander, stalks finely chopped
  • bunch spring onions, shredded
  • 600g straight-to-wok medium noodles
  • 100g (3½oz) beansprouts
  • handful roasted peanuts, roughly chopped
  • lime wedges, to serve

IMG_8459

Step 1: Combine the tamarind, fish sauce, sugar and lime juice with 1 tbsp water and set aside.

Step 2: Heat a large wok/non-stick frying pan over a high heat. Add 1 tsp oil, then pour in the egg. Swirl around the pan to make a thin omelette, cook for 30 seconds until dry. Slice finely and set aside.

Step 3: Add 2 tsp oil to the wok and stir-fry the chicken for about 5 minutes, until golden and cooked through. Ensure there is no pink showing in the chicken when cooked through. Tip onto a plate.

Step 4: Add the prawns to the same pan, cook for about 3 minutes or until they are completely pink and turning golden, and set aside.

Step 5: Heat the final 1 tbsp oil in the wok, Tip in the garlic, chilli, coriander stalks and half the spring onions. Cook for 1 minute.

IMG_8460

Step 6: Then add the noodles and beansprouts. Stir-fry for 2 minutes until the noodles have separated and everything is heated through. Add the chicken, prawns and the tamarind sauce. Toss with the noodles until well coated.

Step 7: To serve, scatter over the roasted peanuts, remaining spring onions, coriander leaves and lime wedges.

IMG_8467

IMG_8464

With this being my first venture into the world of cooking, I was pleasantly surprised with the simplicity of it all despite it being quite a glamourous, flavour heavy dish. For any other novice cooks out there, I would definitely recommend giving this a go – the tutotrial video that goes hand in hand with this recipe helps massively too!

B xx

Leave a Reply

