Devil’s Food Cake

IMG_8073

I’ve said it time and time again but I’ll say it again, I’m a sucker for chocolate based desserts. I lose all willpower when chocolate comes into the equation. My lose weight resolution goes out the window, my healthy eating motto disappears and before I know it I’ve got more chocolate cake stuffed down my throat than Bruce from Matilda.

So when I saw this Devil’s food cake recipe on Nigella’s website, I just could not resist. The sheer amount of chocolate had me salivating before I’d even begun baking. I’m not normally a massive fan of making sandwiched/tiered cakes, but since one of my new year goals was to venture out a little more with my baking, there was no way I couldn’t give this a go.

IMG_8074

However, I must admit that this didn’t turn out exactly how I’d planned. Although the whole process was relatively easy, I did have some difficulties when it came to making the frosting. The frosting needs to set an hour before you spread it over the cake in order for it to stiffen up, but since I was in a rush, I’d only left mine for 40 mins meaning it was more of a ganache rather than the frosting stated in Nigella’s recipe. I did notice though that the left over icing that remained did set after a while so if you want to produce a cake similar to one on Nigella’s website, I’d recommend leaving it for over an hour in order to get the desired effect.

Nonetheless my impromptu ganache turned out pretty well and had a very shiny surface (even if it was by accident). The extreme chocolatey goodness is sure to set anyone’s heart racing. I wouldn’t say that this is my favourite chocolate cake recipe but it did go down a treat regardless!

IMG_8075

I topped my cake with strawberries and mini Hershey’s chocolate bars and finished it off with a red ribbon giving it that professional look. I would’ve liked to even out the sides a little but I was happy with the accidental rustic look.

IMG_8077

You will need –

For the Cake:

  • 50g cocoa powder (sifted)
  • 100g dark brown muscovado sugar
  • 250ml boiling water
  • 125g soft unsalted butter (plus some for greasing)
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs

For the Frosting:

  • 125ml water
  • 30g dark brown muscovado sugar
  • 175g unsalted butter (cubed)
  • 300g dark chocolate (finely chopped)

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 180°C/gas mark 4/350°F.

Step 2: Line the bottoms of two 20cm / 8inch round sandwich tins with baking parchment and butter the sides.

Step 3: Put the cocoa and dark muscovado sugar into a bowl, and pour in the boiling water. Whisk to mix, then set aside.

Step 4: Cream the butter and caster sugar together, beating well until pale and fluffy

Step 5: Stir the flour, baking powder and bicarb together in another bowl, and set aside for a moment.

Step 6: Pour the vanilla extract into the creamed butter and sugar – mixing all the while – then drop in 1 egg, quickly followed by a scoopful of flour mixture, then the second egg.

Step 7: Keep mixing and then add in the rest of the dried ingredients for the cake. Finally mix and fold in the cocoa mixture.

Step 8: Divide the batter between the 2 prepared tins and put in the oven for about 30 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Step 9: Take the tins out and leave them on a wire rack for 5–10 minutes, before turning the cakes out to cool.

Step 10: As soon as the cakes are in the oven, get started on the frosting: put the water, 30g muscovado sugar and 175g butter in a pan over a low heat to melt.

Step 11: When the mixture begins to bubble, take the pan off the heat and add the chopped chocolate, swirling the pan so that all the chocolate is hit with heat, then leave for a minute to melt before whisking till smooth and glossy.

Step 12: Leave for about 1 hour, whisking now and again.

Step 13: Set one of the cooled cakes, with its top side down, on a cake stand or plate, and spread with about a third of the frosting, then top that with the second cake, regular way up, and spread the remaining frosting over the top and sides.IMG_8076

And voila, there you have it, a true heart attack inducing chocolate cake!

B xx

One thought on “Devil’s Food Cake

Leave a Reply

