Mini Loaf Recipes

Mini Lemon Loaf

Baking has always been a love or loathe situation with me. I go through months where all I ever want to do is bake, and others where I just can’t stand it. Currently, my apron has been well and truly in place and I’m loving playing around with new techniques and recipes.

I recently invested in a few new baking gadgets and was eager to try some of them out – with one being the mini silicon loaf moulds. There’s something about mini cakes which I adore, and since they’re smaller in size, that means they’re healthier right?

Mini Loafs

After searching for recipes online, I thought I’d bake a few lemon and chocolate chip banana loafs. But since I was taking these cakes into work for a leaving do, I wanted to jazz it up a little so decided to add a few personal touches to give it that extra oomph. Anyone that knows me will know that I’m a sucker for presentation so I thought I’d combine my baking and wrapping skills together by wrapping the mini loafs in coloured tissue paper, followed by tying them with a little string. I then added a few name tags which I made myself (templates below) and was so thrilled with how the loafs turned out. The extra touches completely transformed a relatively normal cake.

Mini Loaf

Not only were they the perfect size for a little afternoon snack, but they tasted amazing (if I must say so myself) and looked super cute! I can definitely see myself baking these again to use as favours for parties.

For anyone that’s interested and in order to save you a little time, you can find and use the templates for my homemade tags here –

Mini Loaf

I used the Lemon cake recipe from here and the chocolate chip banana loaf recipe from the Waitrose website but amended the quantities slightly.

Full recipe details are as follows –

For the Mini Lemon Loafs

Makes around 15 loafs (depending on the size of your tins)

You will need –

  • 120g unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 170g plain flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 170g caster sugar
  • 60ml milk
  • Zest of two lemons
  • 2 medium free-range eggs

Step 1: Set the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas Mark 4 and grease 15 mini loaf cases

Step 2: Mix together the butter and caster sugar until the mixture is pale and fluffy

Step 3: Crack the eggs in a separate bowl and add the milk, lightly loosen with a fork

Step 4: Beat the eggs a little at a time into the creamed butter mixture, making sure to mix well in between each addition

Step 5: Sift the baking powder and flour into the creamed butter mixture, add the lemon zest and lightly fold the flour in

Step 6: Pour the batter into the mini moulds and bake for around 25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean (the length of time can differ depending on what size your tins are)

Mini Loaf

For the Mini Chocolate Chip Banana Loafs

Makes around 15 loafs (depending on the size of your tins)

You will need –

  • 250g Plain flour
  • 2 tsp Baking powder
  • 125g Unsalted butter, softened
  • 250g Caster sugar
  • 3 Ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 Eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 125g dark or milk chocolate chips

Step 1: Set the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas Mark 4 and grease 15 mini loaf cases

Step 2: Mix together the butter and caster sugar until the mixture is pale and fluffy

Step 3: Add in the eggs, vanilla extract and bananas and stir thoroughly

Step 4: Sift the baking powder and flour into the mixture, making sure not to over-mix and add in the chocolate chips

Step 5: Pour the batter into the mini moulds and bake for around 25-30 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean (the length of time can differ depending on what size your tins are)

Mini Loaf

I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed baking it….and remember, since these cakes are smaller, they’re almost verging on being healthy!

Bithika xx

6 thoughts on “Mini Loaf Recipes

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | bithikablogs

  2. Pingback: Dessert Table #1 | bithikablogs

Leave a Reply

