Mum’s Special Pancake Recipe

IMG_3425

No one should ever really need an excuse to eat pancakes, but if you are in need of one then here it is – IT’S PANCAKE DAY! A day where eating pancakes for breakfast, lunch and dinner is deemed completely acceptable (my idea of heaven).

Ever since I can remember, pancake day has always been a day where my mum would have a tower of pancakes at the table ready for the whole family to scoff down within a matter of seconds.

My mum is no baker but she certainly can make the ultimate pancakes. I thought considering the fact that they are this good, it’s only fair that I share her recipe with you all. (However, getting a recipe written down proved to be quite difficult due to the fact that she does not like to measure anything!)

A little different from the standard pancakes on the market – these pancakes already have the sugar incorporated into the pancake batter meaning they taste scrumptious and you don’t need to bother with fillings if you don’t want to.

The following ingredients are enough to make around 8 pancakes (depending on the size).

You will need –Pancake Ingredients

  • 100g plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 200ml milk
  • 55g sugar
  • Frying pan with a little oil
  • Toppings of your choice

Step 1: Pour all the ingredients into a bowl adding the milk slowly whilst mixing. Start off by stirring with a wooden spoon and once the mixture has loosened, continue to mix with a whisk (using a electric mixer does make life easier here and gets rid of any lumps). If the mixture is too stiff to beat, add a further splash of milk. The batter should be quite runny once the ingredients are fully incorporated.

Pancakes

Step 2: Heat a frying pan over a medium heat and then wipe with oiled kitchen paper.

Pancakes

Step 3: Using a ladle, pour a fair amount of the batter into the middle and swirl the pan to get a thin layer. After about 30 secs, the bottom of the pancake should turn golden, at this moment flip the pancake over. Leave for 30 secs and then serve/stack on a plate.

Pancakes

Step 4: Repeat with the rest of the batter, remembering to wipe the pan with oiled kitchen paper before making each pancake.

Step 5: Lather with golden syrup, honey, lemon and sugar or Nutella and dig in…it’s best eaten warm.

Now I’m off to scoff up some pancakes coated in Nutella….I think a pancake coma is on it’s way!

Pancakes2015/02/img_3427.pngPancakesBithika xx

3 thoughts on “Mum’s Special Pancake Recipe

  1. Your photos are gorgeous! Your pancake photos caught my eye! My name is April btw, and I run a food blog as well- I was wondering if you would ever be interested in writing a guest blog post! (or doing a few)

    The only reason I ask is because your posts are beautiful and I would love to help you grow your blog and also help grow mine 🙂

    Let me know if you are at all interested! All I would need are the photos and recipe content emailed to me- dietitian@ocnutritioncoaching.com
    I would link back to your blog as well 🙂 I get roughly ~100 visitors per day- you can also send your photo and bio!

    looking forward to hearing from you,

    April

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much April! I’m really glad you liked them 🙂 I think I ate my own body weight in pancakes yesterday!

      I would most definitely be interested, I’ll email you directly.

      Bithika x

      Like

  2. Pingback: American Pancakes | bithikablogs

Leave a Reply

