Marrakech Diaries: Part Two – An Explosion Of Colour

Markets

I’ve been abit MIA on here recently but fret no more….Part Two of my Marrakech Travel Diaries is finally here!

Marrakech has always been on my wish list of places to visit and I was lucky enough to see what the beautiful city had to offer back in October.

Being a massive lover of markets, the souks was what I was most excited about seeing. I had heard alot about the main square, both good and bad but was eager to experience it for myself.

photo 2 (1)photo 5

I was taken aback as soon as I entered the square and immediately fell in love with all the colours, the atmosphere and the tiny cave like shops.

It was amazing to see the locals in Marrakech walking side by side alongside the tourists. This world-famous square was not a standard tourist attraction, but a place where the locals came to do their weekly shop and experience the entertainment which took place every evening – something you don’t see on every trip abroad.

TagineDates

One of the things I enjoyed the most about the souks was the feeling of freedom. There was no map to follow, no signs to look out for, it was just a case of wandering through the maze of alleyways and seeing where you would end up, that was an adventure in itself!

Spicesphoto 4 (3)

The souks had everything to offer – jewellery, candles, home decor, lights, scarves, spices, sweets…. the list goes on. But things don’t come cheap here, haggling is required upon every purchase! Prices start extortionately high but can drop from 600 dirhams to about 60 if you argue your way through. One tip we picked up on was to walk away, on more than a couple of situations the shop-owner came chasing after us with a much cheaper price!

LightsLightsBags, Bags, Bags!Old Meets NewCharlie ChapmanSpices

I had an image in my head of what the souks would look like and although they didn’t quite live up to my expectations, I would definitely recommend checking them out if you’re ever down in Marrakech.

I’ll leave you with my stand out moment from my whole trip – one guy who was trying to lure us to eat at his food stall shouted the following to entice us to come over….

“Come and eat here, my food won’t give you diarrhoea!”

Ahh only in Marrakech do they have such powers of persuasion!

photo 3 (2)

One thought on “Marrakech Diaries: Part Two – An Explosion Of Colour

Leave a Reply

